Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Reading Library Material on Your Desktop: Electronic Journals, Books and Databases

This guide will show you, step-by-step, how to find electronic books, technical reports and articles from your library

Reading Electronic Resources.

 

EZ Proxy Log-In pageIn order to access our electronic resources, you will need to log into your library EZ Proxy account with the Username and Password you received via email from the Library Staff.

 

 

***Only Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL at Wright-Patterson AFB) employees and contractors are eligible for EZ Proxy access***

 

Database, eBook, and eJournal Menu

undefined
undefinedundefined

undefined

undefinedundefined

eBook Collections

undefinedundefinedundefined

Databases and eJournals

Log into your library EZ Proxy account with the Username and Password you received via email from the Library Staff to get to the Database, eBook, and eJournal Menu‚Äč page.


AFRL D'Azzo Research Library Databases and eJournals

As you can see in the left-hand column, the AFRL D'Azzo Research Library has subscriptions from an extensive collection of  electronic databases and eJournal publishers. We do this to ensure that you, the scientists and engineers of the Air Force Research Laboratory at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, have the research material you need for your research when you need it. (And when we don't have a particular article or conference proceeding, our Interlibrary Loan team can usually find the research material you need.)

The databases and eJournals we provide can be divided into two general types. They may cover broad, general topics within the science and engineering fields -- with equally broad coverage of science and engineering journals -- or they cover very specific topics, often topics of interest to the Society producing the database. In either case, if you are looking for a specific journal article or conference proceeding, you may want to use our eJournals/eBook Search. You can find out more about it on the Finding a Specific Electronic Journal or Electronic Book page of this guide.

If, instead, you are interested in searching on a topic of interest, there are quite a few databases that might be useful. We cover several general interest databases below. You may want to look at the guides for the individual Directorates, 711 HPW / RH: Airman Systems Directorate - Library ResourcesRQ: Aerospace Systems Directorate - Library ResourcesRX: Materials and Manufacturing Directorate - Library Resources, RXA & RXC: Materials Research -- Library Resources, RXM & RXS: Manufacturing Technology & System Support -- Library Resources, or RY: Sensors Directorate - Library Resources for more specific suggestions.


These general science and engineering databases are all excellent starting points for basic research, and in some cases they may give you results that are specific enough to get you well on your research trail. The areas each covers are noted, to help you decide if it will help your research. If you need assistance with searching any of these databases, they all have excellent help files and guides to searching. Please feel free to contact your liaison librarian if you would like any further assistance. (That's what we are here for!)

Recently renamed, Academic Search Ultimate is aimed at undergraduate college students. It offers students an large collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the general needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.


Engineering Village has the search, analytics, and navigation tools that engineers need to efficiently generate research, assess the impact and relevancy of critical information, and discover new insights for addressing the world’s toughest engineering challenges. All content and features are designed for engineers, so results and outcomes are always engineering-relevant.


eBook Collection Descriptions

AFRL D'Azzo Research Library eBook Collections


The AFRL D'Azzo Research Library also has an extensive collection of  electronic books from a wide variety of publishers. We look for technical and reference works that you, the scientists and engineers of the Air Force Research Laboratory at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, need for your research, and we welcome purchase requests and suggestions from you, our patrons. If there is a book that we don't have, you can ask our Interlibrary Loan team to find it for you.

If you are looking for a specific eBook or conference proceeding, you may want to use our eJournals/eBook Search. You can find out more about it on the Finding a Specific Electronic Journal or Electronic Book page of this guide. You can also check in our online catalog -- our eBooks are included there, with a link available in the book record so you can read it as soon as you are logged into EZ Proxy. You can learn more about this on the Electronic Books page of this guide.

Below, we describe some of the eBook collections we make available to you. Please feel free to contact your liaison librarian if you have any questions.


We provide access to both the journals and conference proceedings of the AIAA and to selected eBook titles from them. Please let us know if we are missing any of the AIAA publications that you need.


The extensive engineering collection of CRC handbooks are available for use on your desktop whenever you need it. You can search the books by subject, and find the chapters you need. If we do not have access to a chapter you want, feel free to ask our our Interlibrary Loan team to find it from another library. 


Instead of providing only static PDFs of engineering reference works, Knovel acts as a search engine through those sources and gives you access directly to the information you need, including interactive graphs, charts and diagrams. Knovel accelerates your discovery of answers and insights from technical reference content sourced from over 140+ providers — so you can more quickly tap into must-have resources. Instead of limiting search to narrow fields of expertise, searches in Knovel scan across the widest multidisciplinary areas, with each offering drilling down across multiple sources to deliver all relevant data, including full-text content, equations, materials and substances data, and interactive charts and graphs.




If you are looking for a particular technical or reference work, you may want to search either our online catalog (see the Electronic Books page of this guide) or our eJournals/eBook Search. You can find out more about it on the Finding a Specific Electronic Journal or Electronic Book page of this guide.


AFRL | AF.mil | AirForce.com | Air Force Sites | AFIT Library | Accessibility | External Link Disclaimer | FOIA