Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research resources to assist with exploration and development of new manufacturing capabilities and efficiencies for defense systems that are critical to the Air Force Manufacturing Technology mission, as well as the rapid and affordable transition of new capabilities to the factory floor, with a particular interest in agile manufacturing. Air Force Manufacturing Technology looks for high risk, pervasive manufacturing processes that are game-changers for multiple systems and entire industrial base sectors, with a vision of attaining next generation agile manufacturing. Also research materials to assist Air Force System Support engineers who provide rapid solutions to Air Force program offices, depots and industry partners to support all the operational commands through materials/processing consultation services investigating problems involved with aerospace vehicle accidents via laboratory failure analysis on structural and electronic components and systems.
Books of Interest
Advanced Manufacturing by
Call Number: HD9726 .B656 2017
Publication Date: 2018-01-12
In this book, William Bonvillian and Peter Singer explore how to rethink innovation and revitalize America's declining manufacturing sector by encouraging advanced manufacturing, bringing innovative technologies into the production process. They argue that advanced manufacturing, which employs such innovative technologies as 3-D printing, advanced material, photonics, and robotics in the production process, is the key.
Additive Manufacturing Technologies by
Call Number: TS171.95 .G53 2015
Publication Date: 2014-11-27
This book covers in detail the various aspects of joining materials to form parts. A conceptual overview of rapid prototyping and layered manufacturing is given, beginning with the fundamentals so that readers can get up to speed quickly. Unusual and emerging applications such as micro-scale manufacturing, medical applications, aerospace, and rapid manufacturing are also discussed. This book provides a comprehensive overview of rapid prototyping technologies as well as support technologies such as software systems, vacuum casting, investment casting, plating, infiltration and other systems.
Sustainable Production Automation by
Call Number: TS155.7 .L57 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-12
Sustainable production automation, as an effective way to enable and expedite transitions to sustainability and enhance resource utilizations, attracts substantial efforts from researchers in both academy and industry. This book presents the recent development of innovative algorithms, models, heuristics, hardware and software in broad areas of sustainable production systems. It focuses on design, analysis and management of the processes involved in the product life cycle (from design to delivery to return) to have the minimal negative impacts on society (including environmental, economic and social). The contributors are experts from both universities and industrial research centers.
Journals of Interest
Journals of Interest:
The International Journal of Advanced Manufacturing Technology
The International Journal of Advanced Manufacturing Technology bridges the gap between pure research journals and the more practical publications on advanced manufacturing and systems. It therefore provides an outstanding forum for papers covering applications-based research topics relevant to manufacturing processes, machines and process integration.
Journal of Engineering Studies and Research
JESR is a quarterly scientific journal edited by an Editorial Office from the Engineering Faculty – “Vasile Alecsandri” University of Bacau. The journal continues the activity of another journal, Modelling and Optimization in the Machines Building Field (MOCM), starting with volume 16 no.3, from August 2010.
It contains the most recent theoretical and experimental studies concerning the topical and perspective problems in the conception and manufacturing fields of the technological plants and equipments. The editorial activity is coordinated by the Editorial Board and the Committee of Scientific Reviewers, including an impressive scientific staff from the departments of specialty of the Romanian and other European Universities.
Manufacturing & Service Operations Management
M&SOM is the INFORMS journal for operations management. The purpose of the journal is to publish high-impact manuscripts that report relevant research on important problems in operations management (OM). The field of OM is the study of the innovative or traditional processes for the design, procurement, production, delivery, and recovery of goods and services. OM research entails the control, planning, design, and improvement of these processes. This research can be prescriptive, descriptive, or predictive; however, the intent of the research is ultimately to develop some form of enduring knowledge that can lead to more efficient or effective processes for the creation and delivery of goods and services.
Rapid Prototyping Journal
Rapid Prototyping Journal concentrates on development in a manufacturing environment but covers applications in other areas, such as medicine and construction. All papers published in this field are scattered over a wide range of international publications, none of which actually specializes in this particular discipline, this journal is a vital resource for anyone involved in additive manufacturing. It draws together important refereed papers on all aspects of AM from distinguished sources all over the world, to give a truly international perspective on this dynamic and exciting area.
eBooks of Interest:
Principles of Engineering Manufacture by
Publication Date: 1996-02-02
The third edition of this text, formerly known as Principles of Engineering Production, has been thoroughly revised and updated and continues to provide students with a comprehensive overview of the technical considerations for the entire manufacturing process. In keeping with the developments in manufacturing technology, this new edition reflects the major advances in recent years, in particular, looking at the transition to computer controlled machinery and the developments in computer applications. Beginning with specification and standardisation, it analyses the key aspects of the manufacturing process and pays particular attention to the crucial considerations of quality and cost. In addition, the coverage of materials has been extended to account for the increased availability and complexity of non-metals. The addition of a number of case studies, new worked examples and problems, make this text an invaluable introduction to engineering manufacture. It is also a useful and straightforward reference text for the professional engineer.
Optimization of Manufacturing Systems Using the Internet of Things by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TS183
Publication Date: 2016-10-21
Optimization of Manufacturing Systems Using the Internet of Things extends the IoT (Internet of Things) into the manufacturing field to develop an IoMT (Internet of Manufacturing Things) architecture with real-time traceability, visibility, and interoperability in production planning, execution, and control. This book is essential reading for anyone interested in the optimization and control of an intelligent manufacturing system. As modern manufacturing shop-floors can create bottlenecks in the capturing and collection of real-time field information, and because paper-based manual systems are time-consuming and prone to errors, this book helps readers understand how to alleviate these issues, assisting them in their decision-making on shop-floors.
Agile Manufacturing by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TS155.65 .A45 2001eb
Publication Date: 2001-01-25
Agile manufacturing is defined as the capability of surviving and prospering in a competitive environment of continuous and unpredictable change by reacting quickly and effectively to changing markets, driven by customer-designed products and services. Critical to successfully accomplishing AM are a few enabling technologies such as the standard for the exchange of products (STEP), concurrent engineering, virtual manufacturing, component-based hierarchical shop floor control system, information and communication infrastructure, etc. A problem solving approach is taken throughout the book, emphasizing the context of agile manufacturing and the complexities to be addressed.
Laser Additive Manufacturing by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TA1677
Publication Date: 2016-09-01
Laser Additive Manufacturing: Materials, Design, Technologies, and Applications provides the latest information on this highly efficient method of layer-based manufacturing using metals, plastics, or composite materials. The technology is particularly suitable for the production of complex components with high precision for a range of industries, including aerospace, automotive, and medical engineering. This book provides a comprehensive review of the technology and its range of applications. It provides a comprehensive one-volume overview of advances in laser additive manufacturing and presents detailed coverage of the latest techniques used for laser additive manufacturing, reviewing both established and emerging areas of application.
Digital Twin Driven Smart Manufacturing by
Call Number: Electronic Book - PS183
Publication Date: 2019-02-12
Digital Twin Driven Smart Manufacturing examines the background, latest research, and application models for digital twin technology, and shows how it can be central to a smart manufacturing process. The interest in digital twin in manufacturing is driven by a need for excellent product reliability, and an overall trend towards intelligent, and connected manufacturing systems. This book provides an ideal entry point to this subject for readers in industry and academia.
Books from the National Academies Press
Free eBooks [PDFs] from the National Academies Press:
Weapons System Sustainment Planning Early in the Development Life Cycle (2020)
According to the Government Accountability Office, sustainment of weapon systems accounts for approximately 70 percent of the total life-cycle costs. When sustainment is not considered early in the development process or as an integral part of the systems engineering design, it can negatively affect the ability of the Air Force to maintain and improve the weapon system once it enters service.
At the request of the Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Acquisition, Technology, and Logistics, Weapons Systems Sustainment Planning Early in the Development Life Cycle identifies at what point or phase of the development of a weapons system sustainment planning should be integrated into the program; examines and provides recommendations regarding how sustainment planning should be evaluated throughout the development process; investigates and describes the current challenges with sustainment planning and determines what changes have occurred throughout the acquisition process that may have eroded sustainment planning; and identifies opportunities for acquisitions offices to gain greater access to sustainment expertise. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Software Sustainment and Maintenance of Weapons Systems for the United States Air Force: Proceedings of a Workshop–in Brief (2020)
On February 27-March 1, 2019, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine's Air Force Studies Board convened a workshop in Washington, D.C., on U.S. Air Force (USAF) software sustainment and maintenance of weapons systems. This workshop was conducted as part of a broader study conducted by the Committee on Air Force Software Sustainment and Maintenance of Weapon Systems that is focused on addressing challenges and identifying opportunities to effectively design and execute sustainment planning across USAF systems and platforms. During the workshop, committee members heard from a wide range of subject-matter experts in software sustainment from government to academia to examine how the USAF can improve planning, implementation, and management of software sustainment and maintenance of weapons systems. This publication highlights the discussion and presentations of that event. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Globalization of Defense Materials and Manufacturing Proceedings of a Workshop (2018)
Emerging economies, social and political transitions, and new ways of doing business are changing the world dramatically. To be the leader in this competitive climate, a defense manufacturing enterprise will require up-to-date capabilities, which include improvements in materials processing, among other things. Also, national and international efforts to mitigate environmentally harmful effects of industrial processes and to improve decision making for handling and disposing of industrial contaminants adds additional requirements for any future efforts. The objective of retaining high-value materials-related manufacturing as a key national competitive capability implies a number of factors. The value of specific manufacturing capabilities could be defined not only in terms of criticality to defense systems but also in relation to technology and knowledge content, importance as a supplier to other industries, and importance to U.S. exports. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Securing Advanced Manufacturing in the United States The Role of Manufacturing USA: Proceedings of a Workshop (2017)
The Manufacturing USA initiative seeks to reinforce U.S.-based advanced manufacturing through partnerships among industry, academia, and government. Started in 2012 and established with bipartisan support by the Revitalize American Manufacturing and Innovation Act of 2014, the initiative envisages a nationwide network of research centers for manufacturing innovation. As of May 2017, 14 manufacturing innovation institutes had been established to facilitate the movement of early-stage research into proven capabilities ready for adoption by U.S. manufacturers. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]