RXE: Photonic, Electronic, & Soft Materials -- Library Resources: Materials for Survivability and Protection

Bioinspired Photonics: Optical Structures and Systems Inspired by Nature provides an interdisciplinary introduction to the captivating and diverse photonic systems seen in nature and explores how we take inspiration from them to create new photonic materials and devices. The book presents important examples of how combining biological inspiration with state-of-the-art nanoscience is resulting in the emergence of a field focused on developing real improvements in materials and devices. The author walks readers through examples taken from nature, delves into their characterization and performance, and describes the unique features of their performance. She interweaves this material with discussions on fabricating synthetic versions of the systems as well as specific aspects of the biological examples that researchers are leveraging in their own work. Suitable for a multidisciplinary audience of scientists, technologists, students, and lay people, this book covers a wide range of topics encompassed by bioinspired photonics in an easy-to-follow way. Newcomers to the field will acquire the minimum background necessary to begin exploring this fascinating subject while experts will discover state-of-the-art approaches to biomimetic and bioinspired photonic systems.

---

Liquid crystal devices for photonics applications is a "hot topic" of research. This book provides engineers, physicists, and designers with the most up-to-date descriptions of the dielectric, optical, and viscoelastic properties of LCs; photonics applications; and the knowledge to design better performing liquid crystal photonic and display devices (LCD). The book gives the knowledge needed to optimise LC cell geometry, select proper display configurations, and develop photonics LC applications. The book is intended for a wide range of engineers, scientists and managers, who are willing to understand the "hot" topics of LC applications in photonics and displays. Liquid crystal physical properties, geometry of liquid crystal cell and characteristics of electrooptical effects to choose and/or to develop liquid crystal photonics devices with optimal parameters are highlighted. Special attention was paid to photoalignment technology for LC photonics and emergent display devices. University researchers and students, who are specialised in the condensed matter physics and liquid crystal device developments will also find some useful information in this book.

---

This definitive guide to modern organic electro-optic and photonic technologies provides critical insight into recent advances in organic electro-optic materials, from the underlying quantum and statistical concepts through to the practical application of materials in modern devices and systems. * Introduces theoretical and experimental methods for improving organic electro-optic and photonic technologies * Reviews the central concepts of nonlinear optics, focusing on multi-scale theoretical methods * Provides clear insight into the structure and function relationships critical to optimizing the performance of devices based on organic electro-optic materials. Serving as a primer for the systematic nano-engineering of soft matter materials, this is an invaluable resource for those involved in the development of modern telecommunication, computing, and sensing technologies depending on electro-optic technology. It is also an indispensable work of reference for academic researchers and graduate students in the fields of chemistry, physics, electrical engineering, materials science and engineering, and chemical engineering.

---

This book contains select papers from the 2006 International Symposium on Spectral Sensing Research (2006 ISSSR)". It provides unique perspectives on both state-of-the-art hyperspectral techniques for the early-warning monitoring of water supplies against chemical, biological and radiological (CBR) contamination effects as well as the emerging spectroscopic science and technology base that will be used to support an array of CBR defense and security applications in the future.

---

Biosensors are making a large impact in environmental, food, biomedical, and other applications. The aim of this book is to focus on research related to the rapid detection of agents and weapons of bioterrorism and provide a comprehensive review of the research topics most pertinent to advancing devices applicable to the rapid real-time detection of toxicants such as microbes, pathogens, toxins, or nerve gases. The ongoing war on terrorism and the rising security concerns are driving the need for newer faster biosensors against bio-warfare agents for both military and civil defence applications. Readers of these review articles will learn new technological schemes that can lead to the construction of devices that will minimize the risk of bio-terrorism.

---

2D Materials for Photonic and Optoelectronic Applications introduces readers to two-dimensional materials and their properties (optical, electronic, spin and plasmonic), various methods of synthesis, and possible applications, with a strong focus on novel findings and technological challenges. The two-dimensional materials reviewed include hexagonal boron nitride, silicene, germanene, topological insulators, transition metal dichalcogenides, black phosphorous and other novel materials. This book will be ideal for students and researchers in materials science, photonics, electronics, nanotechnology and condensed matter physics and chemistry, providing background for both junior investigators and timely reviews for seasoned researchers.

---

Nanocomposites for Photonic and Electronic Applications addresses a range of aspects of different nanocomposites and their possible applications to illustrate the techniques used to prepare and characterize them. In addition, the book discusses possible optical, electronic, biophotonic, photonic and renewable energy applications, presenting a panorama of current research in the field of nanostructures for photonic applications. This is an important reference source for academics and industry engineers who are looking to learn more about how nanocomposites can be used to make cheaper, more efficient products in the electronic and photonic fields. Explores the use of different types of amorphous and crystalline nanocomposites based on fluorides, tellurite, borates and lasers Discusses the applications of nanocomposites for photonics, biophotonics and renewable energy applications Assesses the advantages and disadvantages of using different types of nanocomposite in the design of different electronic and photonic products

---

Silicon photonics uses chip-making techniques to fabricate photonic circuits. The emerging technology is coming to market at a time of momentous change. The need of the Internet content providers to keep scaling their data centers is becoming increasing challenging, the chip industry is facing a future without Moore's law, while telcos must contend with a looming capacity crunch due to continual traffic growth. Silicon Photonics: Fueling the Next Information Revolution outlines the history and status of silicon photonics. The book discusses the trends driving the datacom and telecom industries, the main but not the only markets for silicon photonics. In particular, developments in optical transport and the data center are discussed as are the challenges. The book details the many roles silicon photonics will play, from wide area networks down to the chip level. Silicon photonics is set to change the optical components and chip industries; this book explains how.

---

Mid-infrared Optoelectronics: Materials, Devices, and Applications addresses the new materials, devices and applications that have emerged over the last decade, along with exciting areas of research. Sections cover fundamentals, light sources, photodetectors, new approaches, and the application of mid-IR devices, with sections discussing LEDs, laser diodes, and quantum cascade lasers, mid-infrared optoelectronics, emerging research areas, dilute bismide and nitride alloys, Group-IV materials, gallium nitride heterostructures, and new nonlinear materials. This book presents a key reference for materials scientists, engineers and professionals working in R&D in the area of semiconductors and optoelectronics. It provides a comprehensive overview of mid-infrared photodetectors and light sources and the latest materials and devices, and reviews emerging areas of research in the field of mid-infrared optoelectronics, including new materials, such as wide bandgap materials, chalcogenides and new approaches, like heterogeneous integration and information on the most relevant applications in industry, like gas sensing, spectroscopy and imaging.

---

The book presents the principles of Damage Mechanics along with the latest research findings. Both isotropic and anisotropic damage mechanisms are presented. Various damage models are presented coupled with elastic and elasto-plastic behavior. The book includes two chapters that are solely dedicated to experimental investigations conducted by the authors. In its last chapter, the book presents experimental data for damage in composite materials that appear in the literature for the first time.

---