Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Polymer Matrix Composites
Resources to assist with research and development of polymer matrix composite technologies for transition to Air Force system components to provide lightweight high performance structural and structural directed energy hardened material solutions to increase system performance and efficiency, reduce cost and accelerate manufacturing. Provide researchers with information to assist with developing and transitioning high temperature composites for aircraft.
International Committee on Composite Materials
International Committee on Composite Materials:
Proceedings: ICCM Conferences
This link leads to the page with the full proceedings for all of the conferences of the International Committee on Composite Materials. Each year is linked separately, and can be browsed by Paper-ID number, Title, Presenting Author, or Track Number, or searched full-text. PDFs can be downloaded for all papers.
Books of Interest
Failure Mechanisms in Polymer Matrix Composites by
Call Number: TA418.9.C6 F336 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-19
Polymer matrix composites are increasingly replacing traditional materials, such as metals, for applications in the aerospace, automotive and marine industries. Because of the relatively recent development of these composites there is extensive on-going research to improve the understanding and modelling of their behaviour - particularly their failure processes. As a consequence there is a strong demand among design engineers for the latest information on this behaviour in order to fully exploit the potential of these materials for a wide range of weight-sensitive applications. Failure mechanisms in polymer matrix composites explores the main types of composite failure and examines their implications in specific applications. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors Failure Mechanisms in Polymer Matrix Composites is a valuable reference for designers, scientists and research and development managers working in the increasing range of industries in which composite materials are extensively used. The book will also be a useful guide for academics studying in the composites field.
Damage and Failure of Composite Materials by
Call Number: TA418.9.C6 T34 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-07
Understanding damage and failure of composite materials is critical for reliable and cost-effective engineering design. Bringing together materials mechanics and modeling, this book provides a complete guide to damage, fatigue and failure of composite materials. The underlying principles governing composite damage, including the physical mechanisms underlying the formation and progression of damage, and the fatigue of composite materials are discussed using fatigue-life diagrams. While there is a special emphasis on polymer matrix composites, metal and ceramic matrix composites are also described. Outlining methods for more reliable design of composite structures, this is a valuable resource for engineers and materials scientists in industry and academia.
Carbon Nanotubes for Polymer Reinforcement by
Call Number: TA455.P55 M24 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-22
Discovered in the twentieth century, carbon nanotubes (CNT) were an integral part of science and industry by the beginning of the twenty first century, revolutionizing chemistry, physics, and materials science. More recent advances in carbon nanotube production methods have resulted in a tremendous push to incorporate CNTs into polymer matrices. Although many advances have been made, two major obstacles continue unresolved: the enhancement of interfacial adhesion between CNTs and polymer matrix, and the improvement of dispersion of CNTs in polymers. Carbon Nanotubes for Polymer Reinforcement is a comprehensive treatment and critical review of the new class of polymer nanocomposites, and points to areas of future developments. Composites engineers, scientists, researchers, and students will find the basic knowledge and technical results contained herein informative and useful references for their work, whether for advanced research or for design and manufacture of such composites.
Woven Composites by
Call Number: TA418.9.C6 W68 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-09
This unique volume presents the latest developments in the field of advanced woven and braided textile composites, with particular emphasis on computational approaches (finite elements, meshfree). Advanced textile composites such as woven, braided, knitted and stitched fabrics are increasingly being used as structural materials in industrial applications due to their efficiency at reinforcing more directions within a single layer and their ability to conform to surfaces with complex curvatures. Furthermore, textile composites provide improved impact resistance, exceptional thermal, fatigue and corrosion resistance, as well as being easier and cheaper to handle and fabricate compared to UD composites.Topics covered in this book include: 2D and 3D plain, twill, satin woven and braided composites, micro-level and macro-level modelling, failure mechanisms, theoretical studies on cryogenic crack behaviour and the specific deformation modes of textile reinforcements, which include the kinematic and hypoelastic models.This book will be particularly relevant to professional engineers, graduate students and researchers interested in composite materials.
Flight Vehicle Materials, Structures and Dynamics by
Call Number: TL698 .F58 1992
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Various papers on flight vehicle materials, structures, and dynamics are presented. Individual topics addressed include: general modeling methods, component modeling techniques, time-domain computational techniques, dynamics of articulated structures, structural dynamics in rotating systems, structural dynamics in rotorcraft, damping in structures, structural acoustics, structural design for control, structural modeling for control, control strategies for structures, system identification, overall assessment of needs and benefits in structural dynamics and controlled structures. Also discussed are: experimental aeroelasticity in wind tunnels, aeroservoelasticity, nonlinear aeroelasticity, aeroelasticity problems in turbomachines, rotary-wing aeroelasticity with application to VTOL vehicles, computational aeroelasticity, structural dynamic testing and instrumentation.
eBooks of Interest
Polymer Matrix Composites and Technology by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TA455.P58 W355 2011
Publication Date: 2011-07-14
Given such properties as low density and high strength, polymer matrix composites have become a widely used material in the aerospace and other industries. Polymer Matrix Composites and Technology provides a helpful overview of these materials, their processing and performance. It provides both students and those in industry with a valuable introduction to and overview of this important class of materials, their processing and performance incorporating naming and classification of composite materials. It reviews the main reinforcement and matrix materials used as well as the nature of the interface between them including damage mechanisms and discusses forming and molding technologies for polymer matrix composites outlining various techniques and technologies.
Layered Double Hydroxide Polymer Nanocomposites by
Call Number: TA418.9.N35
Publication Date: 2019-11-28
Nanocomposites based on layered double hydroxides (LDHs) have recently become a formidable research area due to their amendable properties and potential applications. The distinct properties of LDH polymer nanocomposites include a wide range of chemical compositions, structural homogeneity, unique anion exchanging ability, easy synthesis, high bound water content, memory effect, non-toxicity and biocompatibility. This means that LDH polymer nanocomposites have the potential for new and innovative applications. Layered Double Hydroxide Polymer Nanocomposites presents a comprehensive overview of the recent innovative advances in the fabrication, characterization and applications of LDH polymer nanocomposites. As well as covering fundamental structural and chemical knowledge, this book also explores various properties and characterization techniques including microscopic, spectroscopic and mechanical behaviors. This book provides comprehensive coverage of cutting-edge research in the field of LDH polymer nanocomposites and their future applications.
Polymer Composites in the Aerospace Industry by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TA418.9.C6
Publication Date: 2014-09-17
Polymer composites are increasingly used in aerospace applications due to properties such as strength and durability compared to weight. Edited by two leading authorities in the field, this book summarises key recent research on design, manufacture and performance of composite components for aerospace structures. Part one reviews the design and manufacture of different types of composite component. Part two discusses aspects of performance such as stiffness, strength, fatigue, impact and blast behaviour, response to temperature and humidity as well as non-destructive testing and monitoring techniques.
Manufacturing Techniques for Polymer Matrix Composites (PMCs) by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TA418.9.C6 M36 2012eb
Publication Date: 2012-07-18
Polymer matrix composites are used extensively across a wide range of industries, making the design and development of effective manufacturing processes of great importance. Manufacturing techniques for polymer matrix composites (PMCs) provides an authoritative review of the different technologies employed in the manufacture of this class of composite. With its distinguished editors and international team of expert contributors, this book is an essential guide for engineers and scientists working in the field of polymer matrix composites. It provides an authoritative review of the different technologies employed in the manufacture of polymer matrix composites, reviews the manufacturing of short fiber and nanoparticle-based polymer matrix composites, with injection and compression molding examined in depth, and examines thermoplastic processing, sheet forming, fabric thermostamping, filament winding and continuous fiber reinforced profiles.
New Polymer Nanocomposites for Environmental Remediation by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TA418.9.N35
Publication Date: 2018-02-19
New Polymer Nanocomposites for Environmental Remediation summarizes recent progress in the development of materials' properties, fabrication methods and their applications for treatment of contaminants, pollutant sensing and detection. This book presents current research into how polymer nanocomposites can be used in environmental remediation, detailing major environmental issues, and key materials properties and existing polymers or nanomaterials that can solve these issues. The book covers the fundamental molecular structure of polymers used in environmental applications, the toxicology, economy and life-cycle analysis of polymer nanocomposites, and an analysis of potential future applications of these materials.
Handbook of Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry : Applications to polymers and plastics by
Call Number: Electronic Book - QD117.T4 H36 1998eb
Publication Date: 2002-12-09
As a new and exciting field of interdisciplinary macromolecular science and engineering, polymeric materials will have a profound presence in 21st century chemical, pharmaceutical, biomedical, manufacturing, infrastructure, electronic, optical and information technologies. The origin of this field derived from an area of polymer science and engineering encompassing plastic technologies. The field is rapidly expanding to incorporate new interdisciplinary research areas such as biomaterials, macromolecular biology, novel macromolecular structures, environmental macromolecular science and engineering, innovative and nano-fabrications of products, and is translating discoveries into technologies.