Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Materials for Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance and Electronic Warfare
Resources to assist with research to explore and develop advanced electronic, optoelectronic, and photonic materials and processes at the nanoscale for transition in order to improve performance, affordability, efficiency, and reliability of current and future intelligence, surveillance, reconnaissance (ISR) and electronic warfare (EW) systems.
Books of Interest
Books of Interest:
Introduction to Modern EW Systems by
Call Number: UG485 .D42 2018
Publication Date: 2018-06-30
This authoritative resource provides engineers and students with the latest electronic warfare (EW) techniques and technologies related to on-board military platforms. It provides deeper insight into EW systems principles of operation and their mathematical descriptions, arming professionals with better knowledge for their specific design applications. Readers get practical information on how to counter modern communications data links which provide connectivity and command flow among the armed forces in the battlefield. Taking a sufficiently broad perspective, this comprehensive volume offers a panoramic view of the various physical domains RF, Infrared, and electronics that are present in modern electronic warfare systems.
Biological Weapons: Recognizing, Understanding, and Responding to the Threat by
Call Number: RA647 .J65 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-02
This book provides a detailed understanding of how specific biological weapons work and how to recognize the symptoms of those affected by the weapons as well as how victims would be treated. It teaches the reader to recognize the symptoms of each biological weapon and understand the threat these weapons pose.
Antenna Systems and Electronic Warfare Applications by
Call Number: UG485 .P638 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
This comprehensive book serves as a one-stop resource for practical EW antenna system know-how. Supported with over 700 illustrations and nearly 1,700 equations, this authoritative reference offers you detailed explanations of all the important foundations and aspects of this technology. Moreover, you get an in-depth treatment of a wide range of antenna system applications. The book presents the key characteristics of each type of antenna, including dipoles, monopoles, loops, arrays, horns, and patches. This authoritative volume enables you to analyze and design broadband communication and radar EW antennas, interface antennas to receivers and power amplifiers with maximum efficiency, use multicouplers to connect multiple receivers to a single antenna, and apply the correct kind of antenna to EW problems.
Books from the National Academies Press
Free eBooks [PDFs] from the National Academies Press
Domestic Manufacturing Capabilities for Critical DoD Applications Emerging Needs in Quantum-Enabled Systems: Proceedings of a Workshop (2019)
Recent advancements in quantum-enabled systems present a variety of new opportunities and challenges. These technologies are important developments for a variety of computing, communications, and sensing applications. However, many materials and components relevant to quantum-enabled systems exist outside of the United States, and it is important to promote the development of assured domestic sources of materials, manufacturing capabilities, and expertise. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Combat Vehicle Weight Reduction by Materials Substitution: Proceedings of a Workshop (2018)
Vehicle weight reduction is an effective strategy for reducing fuel consumption in civilian vehicles. For combat vehicles, it presents not only an important opportunity to reduce fuel use and associated logistics, but also important advantages in transport and mobility on the battlefield. Although there have been numerous efforts in the past to reduce the overall weight of combat vehicles, combat vehicle weight has continued to increase over time due to new threats and missions. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Capability Planning and Analysis to Optimize Air Force Intelligence, Surveillance, and Reconnaissance Investments (2012)
Intelligence, surveillance, and reconnaissance (ISR) capabilities have expanded situation awareness for U.S. forces, provided for more precise combat effects, and enabled better decision making both during conflicts and in peacetime, and reliance on ISR capabilities is expected to increase in the future. ISR capabilities are critical to 3 of the 12 Service Core Functions of the U.S. Air Force: namely, Global Integrated ISR (GIISR) and the ISR components of Cyberspace Superiority and Space Superiority, and contribute to all others. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Application of Lightweighting Technology to Military Aircraft, Vessels, and Vehicles (2012)
Lightweighting is a concept well known to structural designers and engineers in all applications areas, from laptops to bicycles to automobiles to buildings and airplanes. Reducing the weight of structures can provide many advantages, including increased energy efficiency, better design, improved usability, and better coupling with new, multifunctional features. While lightweighting is a challenge in commercial structures, the special demands of military vehicles for survivability, maneuverability and transportability significantly stress the already complex process. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Sensor Systems for Biological Agent Attacks: Protecting Buildings and Military Bases (2005)
Over the last ten years, there has been growing concern about potential biological attacks on the nation’s population and its military facilities. It is now possible to detect such attacks quickly enough to permit treatment of potential victims prior to the onset of symptoms. The capability to “detect to warn”, that is in time to take action to minimize human exposure, however, is still lacking. To help achieve such a capability, the Defense Threat Reduction Agency (DTRA) asked the National Research Council (NRC) to assess the development path for “detect to warn” sensors systems. This report presents the results of this assessment including analysis of scenarios for protecting facilities, sensor requirements, and detection technologies and systems. Findings and recommendations are provided for the most probable path to achieve a detect-to-warn capability and potential technological breakthroughs that could accelerate its attainment. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
eBooks of Interest
Photonics rules of thumb : optics, electro-optics, fiber optics, and lasers by
Call Number: TA1520 2020
Publication Date: 2020-07-07
This reference book is a handy compilation of 300 cost-saving, think-on-your-feet photonics rules of thumb designed to save hours of design time. Within seconds you can accurately gauge the impact of a suggested design change on your project. It is the premiere collection of these valuable rules in a single, quick look-up reference. These simple-to-implement calculations allow you to rapidly pinpoint trouble spots, ask the right questions at meetings, and are perfect for quick checks of last-minute specifications or performance feature additions. Offering a convenient alphabetical arrangement according to specialty, this unique reference spans the entire spectrum of Photonics.
Corrosion Protection at the Nanoscale by
Publication Date: 2020-03-10
Corrosion Protection at the Nanoscale explores fundamental concepts on how metals can be protected at the nanoscale by using both nanomaterials-based solutions, including nanoalloys, noninhibitors and nanocoatings. It is an important reference resource for both materials scientists and engineers wanting to find ways to create an efficient corrosion prevention strategy. Nanostructure materials have been widely used in many products, such as print electronics, contact, interconnection, implant, nanosensors and display units to lessen the impact of corrosion. Traditional methods for protection of metals include various techniques, such as coatings, inhibitors, electrochemical methods (anodic and cathodic protections), metallurgical design are covered in this book. Nanomaterials-based protective methods can offer many advantages over their traditional counterparts, such as protection for early-stage, higher corrosion resistance, better corrosion control. This book also outlines these advantages and discusses the challenges of implementing nanomaterials as corrosion protection agents on a wide scale. Explains the main methods of detection, monitoring, testing, measurement and simulation of corrosion at the nanoscale Explores how metals can be protected at the nanoscale using nanotechnology and nanomaterials Discusses the major challenges of detecting and preventing corrosion at the nanoscale.
Electrochemical Energy Storage for Renewable Sources and Grid Balancing by
Publication Date: 2014-10-27
Electricity from renewable sources of energy is plagued by fluctuations (due to variations in wind strength or the intensity of insolation) resulting in a lack of stability if the energy supplied from such sources is used in 'real time'. An important solution to this problem is to store the energy electrochemically (in a secondary battery or in hydrogen and its derivatives) and to make use of it in a controlled fashion at some time after it has been initially gathered and stored. Electrochemical battery storage systems are the major technologies for decentralized storage systems and hydrogen is the only solution for long-term storage systems to provide energy during extended periods of low wind speeds or solar insolation. Future electricity grid design has to include storage systems as a major component for grid stability and for security of supply. The technology of systems designed to achieve this regulation of the supply of renewable energy, and a survey of the markets that they will serve, is the subject of this book.
Cyber Security and It Infrastructure Protection by
Call Number: TK5105.875.I57
Publication Date: 2013-10-23
This book serves as a security practitioner s guide to today s most crucial issues in cyber security and IT infrastructure. It offers in-depth coverage of theory, technology, and practice as they relate to established technologies as well as recent advancements. It explores practical solutions to a wide range of cyber-physical and IT infrastructure protection issues. Composed of 11 chapters contributed by leading experts in their fields, this highly useful book covers disaster recovery, biometrics, homeland security, cyber warfare, cyber security, national infrastructure security, access controls, vulnerability assessments and audits, cryptography, and operational and organizational security, as well as an extensive glossary of security terms and acronyms. Written with instructors and students in mind, this book includes methods of analysis and problem-solving techniques through hands-on exercises and worked examples as well as questions and answers and the ability to implement practical solutions through real-life case studies. Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of cyber security issues allows the reader to remain current and fully informed from multiple viewpoints, this book presents methods of analysis and problem-solving techniques, enhancing the reader's grasp of the material and ability to implement practical solutions.
Functional Materials for Sustainable Energy Applications by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TJ808 .F858 2012
Publication Date: 2012-09-28
Global demand for low cost, efficient and sustainable energy production is ever increasing. Driven by recent discoveries and innovation in the science and technology of materials, applications based on functional materials are becoming increasingly important. Functional materials for sustainable energy applications provides an essential guide to the development and application of these materials in sustainable energy production. It is an essential guide to the development and application of functional materials in sustainable energy production, reviews functional materials for solar power, and focuses on functional materials for hydrogen production and storage, fuel cells, demand reduction and energy storage.