LibGuides: RX: Materials and Manufacturing: Ceramics

Reading Corner

eBooks of Interest:

Ceramic Nanocomposites
A volume in Woodhead Publishing Series in Composites Science and Engineering
Editors: Rajat Banerjee & Indranil Manna
Published: 2013 ISBN: 978-0-85709-338-7

Ceramic nanocomposites have been found to have improved hardness, strength, toughness and creep resistance compared to conventional ceramic matrix composites. Ceramic Nanocomposites reviews the structure and properties of these nanocomposites as well as manufacturing and applications.

A dvances in Ceramic Matrix Composites
Editor: I.M. Low
Published: 2014 ISBN: 978-0-85709-120-8

Ceramic matrix composites (CMCs) have proven to be useful for a wide range of applications because of properties such as their light weight, toughness and temperature resistance. Advances in Ceramic Matrix Composites reviews the types and processing of CMCs, covering processing, properties and applications.

Glass‐Ceramic Technology, Third Edition
Author(s): Wolfram Höland & George Beall
Published: 16 September 2019
Print ISBN:9781119423690 | Online ISBN:9781119423737 | DOI:10.1002/9781119423737

An updated edition of the essential guide to the technology of glass-ceramic technology

Glass-ceramic materials share many properties with both glass and more traditional crystalline ceramics. The revised third edition of Glass-Ceramic Technology offers a comprehensive and updated guide to the various types of glass-ceramic materials, the methods of development, and the myriad applications for glass-ceramics. Written in an easy-to-use format, the book includes an explanation of the new generation of glass-ceramics.

Processing, Properties, and Design of Advanced Ceramics and Composites II: Ceramic Transactions, Volume 261
Editors: Narottam P. Bansal, Ricardo H.R. Castro, Michael Jenkins, Amit Bandyopadhyay, Susmita Bose, Amar Bhalla, J. P. Singh, Morsi M. Mahmoud, Gary Pickrell, Sylvia Johnson
Published:12 February 2018
Print ISBN:9781119423805 |Online ISBN:9781119423829 |DOI:10.1002/9781119423829

This proceedings volume contains 36 papers from the 2016 Materials Science and Technology meeting held in Salt Lake City, UT, October 24-27, 2016

Books of Interest:

Ceramic Matrix Composites by Narottam P. Bansal; Jacques Lamon
Call Number: TA418.9.C6 C4117 2015
ISBN: 9781118231166
Publication Date: 2014-11-24
Ceramic composites are considered as enabling technology for advanced aeropropulsion, space propulsion, space power, aerospace vehicles, space structures, ground transportation, as well as nuclear and chemical industries. In the last thirty years, tremendous progress has been made in the development and advancement of ceramic matrix composites (CMC). Ceramic Matrix Composites: Materials, Modeling and Technology provides a coherent overview of the progression and guides readers through the recent developments on various aspects of CMCs.
Engineered Ceramics by Tatsuki Ohji (Editor); Mrityunjay Singh (Editor)
Call Number: TA455.C43 E56 2016
ISBN: 9781119100409
Publication Date: 2016-02-01
In this book project, all the American Ceramic Society's Engineering Ceramics Division Mueller and Bridge Building Award Winners, the ICACC Plenary Speakers and the past Engineering Ceramics Division Chairs have been invited to write book chapters on a topic that is compatible with their technical interests and consistent with the scope of the book, which is to focus on the current status and future prospects of various technical topics related to engineering ceramics, advanced ceramics and composite materials.
Ultra-High Temperature Ceramics by William G. Fahrenholtz; Eric J. Wuchina (Editor); Greg Geiger; William E. Lee (Editor); Yanchun Zhou (Editor)
Call Number: TP807 .U48 2014
ISBN: 9781118700785
Publication Date: 2014-11-03
The first comprehensive book to focus on ultra-high temperature ceramic materials in more than 20 years. Ultra-High Temperature Ceramics are a family of compounds that display an unusual combination of properties, including extremely high melting temperatures (>3000°C), high hardness, and good chemical stability and strength at high temperatures.
Nano-Glass Ceramics: Processing, Properties and Applications (Micro and Nano Technologies) by Vahak Marghussian
Call Number: TP862 .M27 2015
ISBN: 9780323353861
Publication Date: 2015-01-08
Nano-Glass Ceramics: Processing, Properties and Applications provides comprehe and applications of the most important types of nano-glass ceramics, from a unique material science perspective. Emphasis is placed on the experimental and practical aspects of the subject while covering the theoretical and practical aspects and presenting, numerous examples and details of experimental methods.

Ceramics WebBook: National Institute of Standards and Technology

Ceramics WebBook: NIST
The NIST Ceramics WebBook provides easy access to six different databases:
Two covering broad topics:
-- High Temperature Superconductors database and Structural Ceramics Database;
-- One for Focused Studies of Property Data Summaries for Alumina (sintered), Silicon Carbide (sintered), Titanium Diboride and Y:123 High-Tc Semiconductor;
-- And three databases covering more specific data for ceramics:
*** elastic moduli data,
*** fracture toughness and fracture energy data for oxide glasses, and
*** fracture toughness and fracture energy data for ceramics.

The two broad databases each have an introduction to their field and a description of how the data is evaluated. Each has a users manual, and is searchable by a variety of fields, including author's last name, publication source, chemical family and informal name.
The Property Data Summaries provide chemical information, measurement methodology, physical characteristics and thermal properties, with data being presented as a function of temperature.
The more specific topical study databases each have an introduction to the topic being covered, explain the data evaluation methodology, and provide references for all of the data listed or a link to the broader property data in the Property Data Summaries collection.

Additional Websites of interest:

NIST Materials Data Repository
The National Institute of Standards and Technology has created a materials science data repository as part of an effort in coordination with the Materials Genome Initiative (MGI) to establish data exchange protocols and mechanisms that will foster data sharing and reuse across a wide community of researchers, with the goal of enhancing the quality of materials data and models. Data present on this system are varied and may originate from within NIST or from the worldwide materials community. Data present on this system may or may not be critically reviewed.
Materials Genome Initiative
The Materials Genome Initiative is a federal multi-agency initiative for discovering, manufacturing, and deploying advanced materials twice as fast and at a fraction of the cost compared to traditional methods. The initiative creates policy, resources, and infrastructure to support U.S. institutions in the adoption of methods for accelerating materials development.
The Materials Project
Harnessing the power of supercomputing and state of the art electronic structure methods, the Materials Project provides open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials as well as powerful analysis tools to inspire and design novel materials.

Ceramics Research at Universities & National Laboratories

Northwestern University, McCormick School of Engineering
Northwestern faculty are involved in world-class research on advanced ceramics, from processing to micro/nanostructure to characterization (e.g., mechanical, electrical, optical, and magnetic), and devices.
Princeton University, Ceramic Materials Laboratory
The primary goal of the Ceramic Materials Laboratory is advancing ceramic processing science and technology. Our research activities focus on improving material systems, while heightening the state of the art in ceramic materials. We believe that this can be best achieved by combining basic and applied research, and applying results immediately for the engineering of improved materials.
Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Materials Science and Engineering
Ceramics representing inorganic, non-metallic materials have been researched at Georgia Tech since 1924 with the advent of the kaolin industry in Georgia. Today, research in ceramics is vital for advances in electronics and telecommunications, devices for energy conversion, storage and harvesting, catalysts and sensors, vehicle and personnel armor, as well as for ferro/piezo-electric devices, micro-mechanical systems, permanent magnets, automobile engines, and biomedical applications.
Argonne National Laboratory
Argonne maintains a wide-ranging science and technology portfolio that seeks to address complex challenges in interdisciplinary and innovative ways. Below is a list of all articles, highlights, profiles, projects, and organizations related specifically to ceramics.

RX: Materials and Manufacturing: Ceramics