Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Patent Databases Available via EZ Proxy
Engineering Village offers access to 9 engineering literature and patent databases providing coverage from a wide range of trusted engineering sources: Chimica, Ei Compendex, EP Patents (European patents), Inspec, GEOBASE, GeoRef, NTIS (National Technical Information Service), US Patents, and WO Patents (World Intellectual Property Organization - WIPO).
The patents databases on Engineering Village include US and European patents grants and applications.
US Patents search the USPTO (U.S. Patent and Trademark Office) database. US Patents provides access to a full-text patents database that currently contains over six million patents recorded at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Records cover the period from 1790 to the most recent weekly issue date.
EP Patents offers sophisticated search and retrieval tools across patents registered with the US and European Patent Offices. US and European patent sources can be searched together or individually using EP Patents on Engineering Village.
The WO Patents database provides access to World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) patents. This database uses the PATENTSCOPE search interface to access international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications and other patent information in full-text format.
Web of Science: Derwent Innovations Index
Derwent Innovations Index (1983-present)
Combines unique value-added patent information indexed from over 50 patent issuing authorities in the Derwent World Patent Index (1963-present) with patent citations indexed from the Derwent Patents Citation Index (1973-present).
• Search across clearly written patent titles and abstracts that highlight the novelty, use, advantage, and claims of each invention.
• Search precisely using international patent classification codes or unique Derwent Class Codes.
• Combines patents from multiple patent issuing authorities into a single patent family for easy and complete discovery of each invention.
• Monitor an invention's influence by navigating patent citations.
Other Online Patent Resources
Patent Search and Analysis
Our patent search capabilities offer advanced boolean functions, structured search, biological search, classification search, filtering and sorting options to find the most relevant and important patents.
Google U.S. Patent Search
A focused Google search of U.S. Patent resources.