Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Patent Resources: Locating U.S. Patents

A guide for locating patent resources available through the D'Azzo Research Library, as well as background information on the importance of patents to the Air Force Research Laboratory.

Search Tools for U.S. and other patents

The Patent and Patent Application Full-Text Databases of the USPTO:

A variety of search options for both the Patents Full-Text and the Applications Full-Text databases. (Note that issued patents and published applications must be searched separately.) Also links to the Public Patent Application Information Retrieval (Public PAIR) and the Patent Assignments databases are provided. There are help files, status and history links for most databases.

USPTO Official Gazette for Patents:

The Official Gazette for Patents is published each Tuesday in electronic form only, and contains bibliographic (front page) text, a representative claim, and a drawing (if applicable) of each patent issued that week. Please note that the Official Gazette Notices are also included in each issue and provide important information and changes in rules concerning both patents and trademarks.

The most recent 52 weekly issues of the Official Gazette for Patents are available to view online using the issue date links on the Official Gazette page. These issues may be browsed by classification or type of patent, e.g., utility, design, and plant. Specific patents may be accessed by classification or patentee name. For each patent displayed, clicking on the "Full Text" button in the upper left corner of the provided Front Page will retrieve the full text of the patent from the USPTO Full Text database. See the Usage Notes within each issue or refer to the Frequently Asked Questions for additional information.

Free Patents Online: 

Free Patents Online searches:

(1) issued US patents

(2) published US applications

(3) European patents

(4) Abstracts of Japanese patents

(5) International Published Applications (WIPO)

(6) German patents

 

Note that most fields support Phrase (ABST/"cardboard box"), Proximity (ABST/"cardboard box"~5), Wildcard (ABST/card*), and Leading Wildcard (ABST/*ectomy) queries. Some fields support range queries and math operations. See the syntax guide for advanced syntax details.

Also provides links to IP news, IP offices and IP blogs through their Research Page.

AFRL | AF.mil | AirForce.com | Air Force Sites | AFIT Library | Accessibility | External Link Disclaimer | FOIA