LibGuides: Standards Resources: Home

Library Card & EZProxy Access Form

The form here will register you for access to library assets both print and electronic. There are two ways to submit the form: 1.) You can print out a copy and bring the completed and signed form to the library's Circulation Desk for processing between 0730 and 1630, Monday-Friday. OR, 2.) You can fill out the form online, apply your digital signature and submit it via email. If you experience any difficulties please don't hesitate to contact us:

Library team POC: 937-938-2057

Hours of Operation & Locations

HOURS OF OPERATION:

AFRL D'Azzo Research Library
Mon - Fri: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Closed Federal Holidays

AFRL staff are available to help you:

Mon-Fri: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

AFRL Wright Research Site Special Collections Library
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Closed Federal Holidays

LOCATIONS:
AFRL D'Azzo Research Library
AFRL/RQWL
Area B, Bldg. 642
2950 Hobson Way
Wright-Patterson AFB, OH 45433-7765

Building 642 is located in Area B in the AFIT complex between Hobson Way, Ascani Avenue (formerly Q Street), and 10th Street. There is parking across from the building.

AFRL Wright Research Site Special Collections Library
(formerly known as the Technical Reports Center, Library Secure Collection, or the Reports Vault)
AFRL/RQWL
Area B, Bldg. 45, Rm. 45
2130 Eighth Street
Wright-Patterson AFB, OH 45433-7542

Introduction to Standards Resources

A Standard is a document that delineates best practices, technical specifications, guidelines or other requirements that help ensure the safety and reliability of various products, processes and services. It is usually written by a committee made up of experts and interested parties who can bring their personal expertise and interest to the process of writing a standard.

There can be several different types of standards:

Standard definitions can delineate the meaning or description of a technical term.
Standard guides provide general information that may or may not require specific actions.
Standard practices or procedures provide a set of instructions for performing a particular function or running a particular operation.
Standard specifications are explicit requirements for an item, a material, a component or a system or activity, describing the materials or performance characteristics for the item.
Standard tests describe the steps to be taken in order to produce a specific desired result.
Standard units, in either mathematics or the physical world, are accepted measurements of physical or mathematical quantities.

This guide is intended to provide an overview of the Standards available through the D'Azzo Research Library. If you are interested in a more in-depth survey of Standards, I will be happy to meet with you and discuss our material in greater detail. Please feel free to contact me and make an appointment at any time convenient for you.

eJournals and eBooks on Standards

eJournals and eBooks of Interest:

Journal of Research of the National Institute of Standards and Technology
This is the flagship publication of the National Institute of Standards and Technology. It has been published under various titles and forms since 1904, with its roots as Scientific Papers issued as the Bulletin of the Bureau of Standards. [The AFRL D'Azzo Research Library has access to all issues back to 1904.]
Information Standards Quarterly
The print journal of the National Information Standards Organization, presenting standards-based technology & best practices in library, publishing, & information technology, particularly where these areas overlap, and active developments & implementations, case studies & best practices that show possibly replicable efforts. [The D'Azzo Research Library has access to the print issues from 2008-2015.]
Standardization News
Standardization News is the official bimonthly magazine of ASTM International. It provides news of ASTM’s latest work in international standardization, columns about how standards are developed, interviews with industry expert and features that show how ASTM International standards benefit governments, industries, consumers and global trade. [THe AFRL D'Azzo Research Library has access to all issues back to 2000.]
Computer Standards & Interfaces
The quality of software, well-defined interfaces (hardware and software), the process of digitalisation, and accepted standards in these fields are essential for building and exploiting complex computing, communication, multimedia and measuring systems. Standards can simplify the design and construction of individual hardware and software components and help to ensure satisfactory interworking. Computer Standards & Interfaces is an international journal dealing specifically with these topics.

Internet of Things: Architectures, Protocols and Standards by Simone Cirani; Gianluigi Ferrari; Marco Picone; Luca Veltri
Call Number: Wiley Online Library Online Book
ISBN: 9781119359678
Publication Date: 2018-11-12
More Info...
This book addresses researchers and graduate students at the forefront of study/research on the Internet of Things (IoT) by presenting state-of-the-art research together with the current and future challenges in building new smart applications (e.g., Smart Cities, Smart Buildings, and Industrial IoT) in an efficient, scalable, and sustainable way. It covers the main pillars of the IoT world (Connectivity, Interoperability, Discoverability, and Security/Privacy), providing a comprehensive look at the current technologies, procedures, and architectures.
Handbook of Comparative World Steel Standards by John E. Bringas
Call Number: Knovel Books
ISBN: 978-1-5231-1451-1
Publication Date: 2018-02-28
The intent of this handbook is to allow the user to identify comparable steels that are found in standards from around the world and then to evaluate each complete standard on its own merit to ensure that the selected steel is suited for the intended application. This handbook is not designed to be the sole source of information for selecting a comparative steel and is not intended to be used as a replacement for steel standards. This handbook is one tool in the process of comparing steel standards from around the world.
Standards, Quality Control and Measurement Sciences in 3D Printing and Additive Manufacturing by Chee Kai Chua; Chee How Wong; Wai Yee Yeong
Call Number: ScienceDirect eBooks
ISBN: 9780128134894
Publication Date: 2017-06-05
Standards, Quality Control and Measurement Sciences in 3D Printing and Additive Manufacturing addresses the critical elements of the standards and measurement sciences in 3D printing to help readers design and create safe, reliable products of high quality. With 3D printing revolutionizing the process of manufacturing in a wide range of products, the book takes key features into account, such as design and fabrication and the current state and future potentials and opportunities in the field. In addition, the book provides an in-depth analysis on the importance of standards and measurement sciences.

With self-test exercises at the end of each chapter, readers can improve their ability to take up challenges and become proficient in a number of topics related to 3D printing, including software usage, materials specification and benchmarking.
Practical Guide to International Standardization for Electrical Engineers: Impact on Smart Grids and E-Mobility Markets by Hermann J. Koch
Call Number: Wiley Online Library
ISBN: 9781119067412
Publication Date: 2016-08-30
Practical Guide to International Standardization for Electrical Engineering provides a comprehensive guide to the purpose of standards organizations, their relationship to product development and how to use the standardization process for cost-effective new product launch. It covers major standardization organizations in the field of Electrical Engineering offering a general overview of the varying structures of national standardization organizations, their goals and targets.

Key questions for standardization are answered giving the reader guidance on how to use national and international standards in the electrical business. When shall the company start to enter standardization? How to evaluate the standardization in relationship to the market success? What are the interactions of innovations and market access? What is the cost of standardization? What are the gains for our experts in standardization?

Connect with the D'Azzo Library

AFRL D’Azzo Research Library
Address 2950 Hobson Way,
Bldg. 642, Area B,
Wright-Patterson AFB , OH, US, 45433-7765

Phone - 937-938-4238

Email - afrl.wsc.library@us.af.mil

Books on Standards

Reference Books of Interest:

Primer on Engineering Standards
Standards supplement the design process by guiding the designer toward consistency, safety, and reliability. As daily life involves increasingly complex and sophisticated instruments, standards become indispensable engineering tools to ensure user safety and product quality. Primer on Engineering Standards: Expanded Textbook Edition delves into standards creation and compliance to provide students and engineers with a comprehensive reference.
International Standards Desk Reference
International Standards Desk Reference supplies crucial, hard-to-get information on American, European, and international standards. Readers will discover how to pick and choose among the standards programs, function in an international standards arena, and keep up with international trends. In addition, they'll learn cost-effective implementation of specific standards programs and the different program qualifications, restrictions, compliance issues, documentation, and regulations affecting operations in each country.

Practical Guide to International Standardization for Electrical Engineers by Hermann J. Koch
ISBN: 9781119067436
Publication Date: 2017-05-02
Practical Guide to International Standardization for Electrical Engineering provides a comprehensive guide to the purpose of standards organizations, their relationship to product development and how to use the standardization process for cost-effective new product launch. It covers major standardization organizations in the field of Electrical Engineering offering a general overview of the varying structures of national standardization organizations, their goals and targets. A valuable reference for electrical engineers, designers, developers, test engineers, sales engineers, marketing engineers and users of electrical equipment as well as authorities and business planners to use and work with standards.