We love when our library users recommend books to purchase! Do you know of a title that would benefit others? Maybe you authored a book yourself or contributed a chapter? Please let us know.
To request a book for purchase: Send a message using the Email Me button in the box below. Include any information you have about the book: title, author, ISBN, publisher, edition, publication date, etc. Also indicate whether you prefer print or electronic.
2D Materials by
Most reference texts covering two-dimensional materials focus specifically on graphene, when in reality, there are a host of new two-dimensional materials poised to overtake graphene. This book provides an authoritative source of information on twodimensional materials covering a plethora of fields and subjects and outlining all two-dimensional materials in terms of their fundamental understanding, synthesis, and applications.
AI Superpowers by
THE NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, AND WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER Dr. Kai-Fu Lee--one of the world's most respected experts on AI and China--reveals that China has suddenly caught up to the US at an astonishingly rapid and unexpected pace. In AI Superpowers, Kai-fu Lee argues powerfully that because of these unprecedented developments in AI, dramatic changes will be happening much sooner than many of us expected. Indeed, as the US-Sino AI competition begins to heat up, Lee urges the US and China to both accept and to embrace the great responsibilities that come with significant technological power. Most experts already say that AI will have a devastating impact on blue-collar jobs. But Lee predicts that Chinese and American AI will have a strong impact on white-collar jobs as well. Is universal basic income the solution? In Lee's opinion, probably not. But he provides a clear description of which jobs will be affected and how soon, which jobs can be enhanced with AI, and most importantly, how we can provide solutions to some of the most profound changes in human history that are coming soon.
Applied Nanophotonics by
With full color throughout, this unique text provides an accessible yet rigorous introduction to the basic principles, technology, and applications of nanophotonics. It explains key physical concepts such as quantum confinement in semiconductors, light confinement in metal and dielectric nanostructures, and wave coupling in nanostructures, and describes how they can be applied in lighting sources, lasers, photonic circuitry, and photovoltaic systems. Readers will gain an intuitive insight into the commercial implementation of nanophotonic components, in both current and potential future devices, as well as challenges facing the field. The fundamentals of semiconductor optics, optical material properties, and light propagation are included, and new and emerging fields such as colloidal photonics, Si-based photonics, nanoplasmonics, and bioinspired photonics are all discussed. This is the 'go-to' guide for graduate students and researchers in electrical engineering who are interested in nanophotonics, and students taking nanophotonics courses.
Do We Really Understand Quantum Mechanics? by
Quantum mechanics impacts on many areas of physics from pure theory to applications. However it is difficult to interpret, and philosophical contradictions and counter-intuitive results are apparent at a fundamental level. This book presents current understanding of the theory, providing a historical introduction and discussing many of its interpretations. Fully revised from the first edition, this book contains state-of-the-art research including loophole-free experimental Bell test, and theorems on the reality of the wave function including the PBR theorem, and a new section on quantum simulation. More interpretations are now included, and these are described and compared, including discussion of their successes and difficulties. Other sections have been expanded, including quantum error correction codes and the reference section. It is ideal for researchers in physics and maths, and philosophers of science interested in quantum physics and its foundations.
Electronic Warfare Signal Processing by
Written by a prominent expert in the field, this authoritative new resource presents anti-ship missile (ASM) electronic protection (EP) techniques designed to enhance accurate target classification. This book provides a comprehensive introduction to modern electronic warfare (EW) in an era of information warfare (IW). It explores the capabilities of coherent radar and digital signal processing to rapidly and accurately classify targets that ultimately save lives. Both naval and air electronic EW are covered in this resource. This book gives insight into modern EW as an information battle and includes guidance on properly testing the effectiveness of electronic attack (EA) systems.Pulsed Doppler radar basics including, electromagnetic pulse, dynamic range, gain control, and Doppler effects are presented. A summary of the ASM sensor and EA model is provided and readers find coverage of the radar range equation, burn through, and the range Doppler map and imaging. Special topic-extended target classifications including, false, decoys, and chaff are explained. Special topic ASM EP waveforms and multiple receiver EP are also covered. This book explores features of algorithms to optimize combining multiple parameters and systems. Moreover, it explains several algorithms proposed by PRC personnel to implement optimal two-channel processing that mitigates cover noise EA.
Flow Control Techniques and Applications by
Providing comprehensive coverage, this is the first book to systematically introduce different flow control techniques. With a dedicated chapter for each technique, all of the most important, typical and up-to-date methods are discussed, including the vortex generator, biological techniques, the jet and synthetic jet, the plasma actuator, and closed-loop control. Understand their key characteristics and control mechanisms, and learn about their applications in different fields such as aviation and aerospace, mechanical engineering, and building construction. The necessary background on flow control is provided, including the history of the discipline, and the definition, classification and development of each technique, making this essential reading for graduate students, researchers and engineers working in the field.
Impact Mechanics by
Emphasising non-penetrating collisions, the second edition of Impact Mechanics develops several different methodologies for analysing collisions between structures - from rigid body theory for structures that are stiff and compact, to vibration and wave analyses for flexible structures. A valuable reference for both professionals and advanced undergraduate and graduate students, the book builds upon foundation courses in dynamics and strength of materials. Worked examples and end-of-chapter homework problems are drawn both from industry and sports such as golf, baseball, soccer and billiards. New chapters present a generalised theory of multi-body impact, as well as analyses of visco-elastic and visco-plastic impact. Effects of local compliance on impact dynamics are more generally described, and additional examples illustrating effects of friction during impact between bodies in either collinear or eccentric configurations are included.
An Introduction to Quantum Optics and Quantum Fluctuations by
This is an introduction to the quantum theory of light and its broad implications and applications. A significant part of the book covers material with direct relevance to current basic and applied research, such as quantum fluctuations and their role in laser physics and the theory of forces between macroscopic bodies (Casimir effects). The book includes numerous historical sidelights throughout, and approximately seventy exercises. The book provides detailed expositions of the theory with emphasis on general physical principles. Foundational topics in classical and quantum electrodynamics are addressed in the first half of the book, including the semiclassical theory of atom-field interactions, the quantization of the electromagnetic field in dispersive and dissipative media, uncertainty relations, and spontaneous emission. The second half begins with a chapter on the Jaynes-Cummings model, dressed states, and some distinctly quantum-mechanical features of atom-field interactions, and includes discussion of entanglement, the no-cloning theorem, von Neumann's proof concerning hidden variable theories, Bell's theorem, and tests of Bell inequalities. The last two chapters focus on quantum fluctuations and fluctuation-dissipation relations, beginning with Brownian motion, the Fokker-Planck equation, and classical and quantum Langevin equations. Detailed calculations are presented for the laser linewidth, spontaneous emission noise, photon statistics of linear amplifiers and attenuators, and other phenomena. Van der Waals interactions, Casimir forces, the Lifshitz theory of molecular forces between macroscopic media, and the many-body theory of such forces based on dyadic Green functions are analyzed from the perspective of Langevin noise, vacuum field fluctuations, and zero-point energy.
Mapping Innovation: a Playbook for Navigating a Disruptive Age by
Map the innovation space--and blaze a path to profits and growth Countless books, articles, and other advice promise leaders solutions to the complex challenges they face. Some offer quick, silver-bullet remedies--a straight line to success!--and some are so technical that readers get lost before they begin. Now, there's Mapping Innovation, a refreshing alternative in the crowded business innovation space. Engaging and informative without sacrificing substance and expertise, this groundbreaking guide provides thorough background on some of the greatest innovations of the past century as well as . It details the processes that advanced them from inception to world-changing products--and shows you how to replicate their success. Business innovation expert Greg Satell helps you find your way by revealing the four models of innovation: Basic Research, Breakthrough Innovation, Sustaining Innovation, and Disruptive Innovation. One size does not fit all, so he provides a framework--the Innovation Matrix--for discovering which "type" of innovation process best suits the problem you need to solve. It's about asking the right questions, so that you can apply the right strategies to the problems you need to solve. In the end, you'll have a crystal clear model for disrupting the marketplace, scaling your efforts to propel your enterprise forward, and leverage digital platforms to your advantage. Mapping Innovation offers a simple and accessible but powerful approach to developing a strategy that will put you light years ahead of the competition!.
Nonlinear Kalman Filter for Multi-Sensor Navigation of Unmanned Aerial Vehicle by 
Striking Power by
Threats to international peace and security include the proliferation of weapons of mass destructions, rogue nations, and international terrorism. The United States must respond to these challenges to its national security and to world stability by embracing new military technologies such as drones, autonomous robots, and cyber weapons. These weapons can provide more precise, less destructive means to coerce opponents to stop WMD proliferation, clamp down on terrorism, or end humanitarian disasters. Efforts to constrain new military technologies are not only doomed, but dangerous. Most weapons in themselves are not good or evil; their morality turns on the motives and purposes for the war itself. These new weapons can send a strong message without cause death or severe personal injury, and as a result can make war less, rather than more, destructive.