Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Air Force System Support Engineering
Research resources to assist Air Force System Support engineers who provide rapid solutions to Air Force program offices, depots and industry partners to support all the operational commands through materials/processing consultation services investigating problems involved with aerospace vehicle accidents via laboratory failure analysis on structural and electronic components and systems. Resources to solve material and materials processing problems associated with operational and experimental AF systems and provide analytical chemical analysis support for quick reaction efforts.
eBooks of Interest
Aircraft Sustainment and Repair by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TL671.9
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Aircraft Sustainment and Repair is a one-stop-shop for practitioners and researchers in the field of aircraft sustainment, adhesively bonded aircraft joints, bonded composites repairs, and the application of cold spray to military and civil aircraft. Outlining the state-of-the-art in aircraft sustainment, this book covers the use of quantitative fractography to determine the in-service crack length versus flight hours curve, the effect of intergranular cracking on structural integrity and the structural significance of corrosion. The book additionally illustrates the potential of composite repairs and SPD applications to metallic airframes. Covers corrosion damage assessment and management in aircraft structures Includes a key chapter on U.S. developments in the emerging field of supersonic particle deposition (SPD) Shows how to design and assess the potential benefits of both bonded composite repairs and SPD repairs to metallic aircraft structures to meet the damage tolerance requirements inherent in FAA ac 20-107b and the U.S. Joint Services.
Advances in Damage Mechanics by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TA481 .V69 2006eb
Publication Date: 2006-08-08
The book presents the principles of Damage Mechanics along with the latest research findings. Both isotropic and anisotropic damage mechanisms are presented. Various damage models are presented coupled with elastic and elasto-plastic behavior. The book includes two chapters that are solely dedicated to experimental investigations conducted by the authors. In its last chapter, the book presents experimental data for damage in composite materials that appear in the literature for the first time.
Ageing of Composites by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TA418.9.C6 A343 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-29
Ageing of composites is a highly topical subject given the increasing use of composites in structural applications in many industries. Ageing of composites addresses many of the uncertainties about the long-term performance of composites and how they age under conditions encountered in service. With its distinguished editor and international team of contributors, Ageing of composites is a valuable reference guide for composite manufacturers and developers. It also serves as a source of information for material scientists, designers and engineers in industries that use composites, including transport, chemical processing and medical engineering.
Microstructure and Wear of Materials by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TA418.72 .Z86 1987eb
Publication Date: 1987-03-01
The merits of this book will be immediately apparent to the sophisticated specialist involved with the kinds of wear it deals with. The less sophisticated reader will find it a valuable means of augmenting his background in this field, especially if he follows through by consulting the literature cited in the bibliography. The book is recommended to both classes of readers. -- Applied Mechanics Review
Engineering Tools for Corrosion by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TJ1185
Publication Date: 2017-07-28
Engineering Tools for Corrosion: Design and Diagnosis proposes models and equations derived from theory. It includes discussions of the estimation of main corrosion parameters for corrosion rate, electrochemical constraints, thresholds limits and initiation time. The algorithms proposed are the conjugation of theory and engineering practice resulting from research and professional activities carried out by the author for almost four decades. Presents a rational approach to the corrosion prediction and evaluation dilemma Illustrates new models and algorithms for quantitative estimation of corrosion related factors and parameters Includes the design and interpretation of accelerated corrosion tests
Books of Interest
High Temperature Materials and Mechanisms by
Call Number: TA418.26 .H527 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-03
The use of high-temperature materials in current and future applications, including silicone materials for handling hot foods and metal alloys for developing high-speed aircraft and spacecraft systems, has generated a growing interest in high-temperature technologies. High Temperature Materials and Mechanisms explores a broad range of issues related to high-temperature materials and mechanisms that operate in harsh conditions. While some applications involve the use of materials at high temperatures, others require materials processed at high temperatures for use at room temperature. High-temperature materials must also be resistant to related causes of damage, such as oxidation and corrosion, which are accelerated with increased temperatures. A comprehensive resource of information consolidated in one book, this text greatly benefits students in materials science, aerospace and mechanical engineering, and physics. It is also an ideal resource for professionals in the industry.
Damage and Failure of Composite Materials by
Call Number: TA418.9.C6 T34 2012
Publication Date: 2012-06-07
Understanding damage and failure of composite materials is critical for reliable and cost-effective engineering design. Bringing together materials mechanics and modeling, this book provides a complete guide to damage, fatigue and failure of composite materials. While there is a special emphasis on polymer matrix composites, metal and ceramic matrix composites are also described. Outlining methods for more reliable design of composite structures, this is a valuable resource for engineers and materials scientists in industry and academia.
Books from the National Academies Press
Free eBooks [PDFs] from the National Academies Press:
Applying Materials State Awareness to Condition-Based Maintenance and System Life Cycle Management: Summary of a Workshop (2016)
In August 2014, the committee on Defense Materials Manufacturing and Infrastructure convened a workshop to discuss issues related to applying materials state awareness to condition-based maintenance and system life cycle management. The workshop was structured around three focal topics: (1) advances in metrology and experimental methods, (2) advances in physics-based models for assessment, and (3) advances in databases and diagnostic technologies. This report summarizes the discussions and presentations from this workshop. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Recoverability as a First-Class Security Objective: Proceedings of a Workshop (2018)
The Forum on Cyber Resilience of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine hosted the Workshop on Recoverability as a First-Class Security Objective on February 8, 2018, in Washington, D.C. The workshop featured presentations from several experts in industry, research, and government roles who spoke about the complex facets of recoverability—that is, the ability to restore normal operations and security in a system affected by software or hardware failure or a deliberate attack. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]