Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Manufacturing for Sensors and Electronics
Research to assist with planning and executing manufacturing technology programs to establish the capability for effective processes, materials, and procedures necessary for the affordable manufacture of sensors, electronic devices, assemblies and subsystems for utilization in Air Force and Department of Defense weapon systems. Provides up-to-date information to assist researchers with developing an investment strategy for the interdisciplinary technology relationships of electronic design and engineering, materials and materials processing, fabrication, assembly, integration, test, and quality improvement.
Books of Interest:
Flexible and Stretchable Electronic Composites by
Call Number: TA418.9.C6 F57 2016
Publication Date: 2015-11-03
This book is the first comprehensive collection of electronic aspects of different kinds of elastomer composites, including combinations of synthetic, natural and thermoplastic elastomers with different conducting fillers like metal nanoparticles, carbon nanotubes, or graphenes, and many more. It covers elastomer composites, which are useful in electronic applications, including chemical and physical as well as material science aspects. This book will thus appeal to researchers and scientists, to engineers and technologists, but also to graduate students, working on elastomer composites, or on electronics engineering with the composites, providing the readers with a sound introduction to the field and solutions to both fundamental and applied problems.
Computational Intelligence in Analog and Mixed-Signal (AMS) and Radio-Frequency (RF) Circuit Design by
Call Number: Q342 .C65 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
This book explains the application of recent advances in computational intelligence - algorithms, design methodologies, and synthesis techniques - to the design of integrated circuits and systems. It highlights new biasing and sizing approaches and optimization techniques and their application to the design of high-performance digital, VLSI, radio-frequency, and mixed-signal circuits and systems. This first of two related volumes addresses the design of analog and mixed-signal (AMS) and radio-frequency (RF) circuits, with 17 chapters grouped into parts on analog and mixed-signal applications, and radio-frequency design. It will be of interest to practitioners and researchers in computer science and electronics engineering engaged with the design of electronic circuits.
Wiley Survey of Instrumentation and Measurement by
Call Number: T50 .S89 2001
Publication Date: 2001-06-25
In-depth coverage of instrumentation and measurement from the Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering The Wiley Survey of Instrumentation and Measurement features 97 articles selected from the Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, the one truly indispensable reference for electrical engineers. Together, these articles provide authoritative coverage of the important topic of instrumentation and measurement.
Books from the National Academies Press
Free eBooks [PDFs] from the National Academies Press:
Manipulating Quantum Systems An Assessment of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics in the United States (2019)
The field of atomic, molecular, and optical (AMO) science underpins many technologies and continues to progress at an exciting pace for both scientific discoveries and technological innovations. AMO physics studies the fundamental building blocks of functioning matter to help advance the understanding of the universe. It is a foundational discipline within the physical sciences, relating to atoms and their constituents, to molecules, and to light at the quantum level. AMO physics combines fundamental research with practical application, coupling fundamental scientific discovery to rapidly evolving technological advances, innovation and commercialization. Due to the wide-reaching intellectual, societal, and economical impact of AMO, it is important to review recent advances and future opportunities in AMO physics. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Quantum Computing Progress and Prospects (2019)
Quantum mechanics, the subfield of physics that describes the behavior of very small (quantum) particles, provides the basis for a new paradigm of computing. First proposed in the 1980s as a way to improve computational modeling of quantum systems, the field of quantum computing has recently garnered significant attention due to progress in building small-scale devices. However, significant technical advances will be required before a large-scale, practical quantum computer can be achieved. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Acquisition Strategies for Future Space-Based Optics Unclassified Summary (2019)
This study originated with congressionally directed language from the House Permanent Select Committee for Intelligence (HPSCI) in 2016 and titled “Acquisition Strategies for Future Space Based Optics”. This publication is an unclassified summary of the classified report. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Optics and Photonics: Essential Technologies for Our Nation (2013)
Optics and photonics technologies are ubiquitous: they are responsible for the displays on smart phones and computing devices, optical fiber that carries the information in the internet, advanced precision manufacturing, enhanced defense capabilities, and a plethora of medical diagnostics tools. The opportunities arising from optics and photonics offer the potential for even greater societal impact in the next few decades, including solar power generation and new efficient lighting that could transform the nation's energy landscape and new optical capabilities that will be essential to support the continued exponential growth of the Internet. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Seeing Photons: Progress and Limits of Visible and Infrared Sensor Arrays (2010)
The Department of Defense recently highlighted intelligence, surveillance, and reconnaissance (ISR) capabilities as a top priority for U.S. warfighters. Contributions provided by ISR assets in the operational theaters in Iraq and Afghanistan have been widely documented in press reporting. While the United States continues to increase investments in ISR capabilities, other nations not friendly to the United States will continue to seek countermeasures to U.S. capabilities. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
eBooks of Interest
Advanced Piezoelectric Materials by
Call Number: Electronic Book - QC595.5 .A38 2010eb
Publication Date: 2010-09-27
Piezoelectric materials produce electric charges on their surfaces as a consequence of applying mechanical stress. They are used in the fabrication of a growing range of devices such as transducers (used, for example, in ultrasound scanning), actuators (deployed in such areas as vibration suppression in optical and microelectronic engineering), pressure sensor devices (such as gyroscopes) and increasingly as a way of producing energy. Their versatility has led to a wealth of research to broaden the range of piezoelectric materials and their potential uses. Advanced piezoelectric materials: science and technology provides a comprehensive review of these new materials, their properties, methods of manufacture and applications. It provides a comprehensive review of the new materials, their properties and methods of manufacture and application, explores the development of piezoelectric materials from the historical background to the present status, and features an overview of manufacturing methods for piezoelectric ceramic materials including design considerations.
Magnetic Fusion Energy by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TK9204
Publication Date: 2016-06-21
Magnetic Fusion Energy: From Experiments to Power Plants is a timely exploration of the field, giving readers an understanding of the experiments that brought us to the threshold of the ITER era, as well as the physics and technology research needed to take us beyond ITER to commercial fusion power plants. With the start of ITER construction, the world's magnetic fusion energy (MFE) enterprise has begun a new era. The ITER scientific and technical (S&T) basis is the result of research on many fusion plasma physics experiments over a period of decades. Besides ITER, the scope of fusion research must be broadened to create the S&T basis for practical fusion power plants, systems that will continuously convert the energy released from a burning plasma to usable electricity, operating for years with only occasional interruptions for scheduled maintenance.
Advances in Non-Volatile Memory and Storage Technology by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TK7895.M4
Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Advances in Nonvolatile Memory and Storage Technology, Second Edition, addresses recent developments in the non-volatile memory spectrum, from fundamental understanding, to technological aspects. The book provides up-to-date information on the current memory technologies as related by leading experts in both academia and industry. To reflect the rapidly changing field, many new chapters have been included to feature the latest in RRAM technology, STT-RAM, memristors and more. The new edition describes the emerging technologies including oxide-based ferroelectric memories, MRAM technologies, and 3D memory. Finally, to further widen the discussion on the applications space, neuromorphic computing aspects have been included. This book is a key resource for postgraduate students and academic researchers in physics, materials science and electrical engineering. In addition, it will be a valuable tool for research and development managers concerned with electronics, semiconductors, nanotechnology, solid-state memories, magnetic materials, organic materials and portable electronic devices.
Micro-manufacturing : design and manufacturing of micro-products by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TJ163 .M475 2011eb
Publication Date: 2011
This book is the first of its kind to collectively address design-based and mechanical micro-manufacturing topics in one place. It focuses on design and materials selection, as well as the manufacturing of micro-products using mechanical-based micro-manufacturing process technologies. After addressing the fundamentals and non-metallic-based micro-manufacturing processes in the semiconductor industry, it goes on to address specific metallic-based micro-manufacturing processes, such as: micro-forming, micro-machining, micro-molding, micro-laser processing, micro-layered manufacturing, micro-joining, micro-assembly and materials handling, and microEDM and ECM. The book provides an in-depth understanding of materials behavior at micro-scales and under different micro-scale processing conditions, while also including a wide variety of emerging micro-scale manufacturing issues and examples.