Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Manufacturing for Propulsion and Structures
Research for manufacturing technology programs and investment strategies to establish and improve production capability for effective processes, materials, and procedures necessary to affordably manufacture Air Force and Department of Defense weapon system engines and structures in response to requirements and activities within the Department of Defense industrial base, Air Force Lifecycle and Sustainment Centers, and research & development organizations.
Books of Interest
Failure Analysis of Engineering Structures by
Call Number: TA656 .F32 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Failure analysts, practicing engineers, and students of engineering will find useful guidance and detailed examples in this reference work on the challenging and complex task of investigating service failures and accidents. Based on over four decades of fieldwork by the Failure Analysis and Accident Investigation Group at the National Aerospace Laboratories (Bangalore, India), chapters in the book cover common causes of failures with numerous examples, methodology of failure analysis including some advanced techniques, various mechanisms of failures and characteristic macroscopic and microscopic features that provide significant clues to their causes.
Carbon Nanotubes for Polymer Reinforcement by
Call Number: TA455.P55 M24 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-22
Discovered in the twentieth century, carbon nanotubes (CNT) were an integral part of science and industry by the beginning of the twenty first century, revolutionizing chemistry, physics, and materials science. More recent advances in carbon nanotube production methods have resulted in a tremendous push to incorporate CNTs into polymer matrices. Although many advances have been made, two major obstacles continue unresolved: the enhancement of interfacial adhesion between CNTs and polymer matrix, and the improvement of dispersion of CNTs in polymers. Carbon Nanotubes for Polymer Reinforcement is a comprehensive treatment and critical review of the new class of polymer nanocomposites, and points to areas of future developments. Composites engineers, scientists, researchers, and students will find the basic knowledge and technical results contained herein informative and useful references for their work, whether for advanced research or for design and manufacture of such composites.
Plasma and Fusion Science: From Fundamental Research to Technological Applications by
Call Number: QC718.5.P5 P53 2017
Publication Date: 2018-01-08
In this new book, an interdisciplinary and international team of experts provides an exploration of the emerging plasma science that is poised to make the plasma technology a reality in the manufacturing sector. Plasma technology applications are being developed that could impact the global market for power, electronics, mineral, and other fuel commodities. Currently, plasma science is described as a revolutionary discipline in terms of its possible impact on industrial applications. It offers potential solutions to many problems using emerging techniques. Pointing to current and possible future developments in plasma science and technology, the diverse research presented here will be valuable for researchers, scientists, industry professionals, and others involved in the revolutionary field of plasma and fusion science.
Books from the National Academies Press
Free eBooks [PDFs] from the National Academies Press:
Globalization of Defense Materials and Manufacturing Proceedings of a Workshop (2018)
Emerging economies, social and political transitions, and new ways of doing business are changing the world dramatically. To be the leader in this competitive climate, a defense manufacturing enterprise will require up-to-date capabilities, which include improvements in materials processing, among other things. Also, national and international efforts to mitigate environmentally harmful effects of industrial processes and to improve decision making for handling and disposing of industrial contaminants adds additional requirements for any future efforts. The objective of retaining high-value materials-related manufacturing as a key national competitive capability implies a number of factors. The value of specific manufacturing capabilities could be defined not only in terms of criticality to defense systems but also in relation to technology and knowledge content, importance as a supplier to other industries, and importance to U.S. exports. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
3D Printing in Space (2014)
Additive manufacturing has the potential to positively affect human spaceflight operations by enabling the in-orbit manufacture of replacement parts and tools, which could reduce existing logistics requirements for the International Space Station and future long-duration human space missions. The benefits of in-space additive manufacturing for robotic spacecraft are far less clear, although this rapidly advancing technology can also potentially enable space-based construction of large structures and, perhaps someday, substantially in the future, entire spacecraft. Additive manufacturing can also help to reimagine a new space architecture that is not constrained by the design and manufacturing confines of gravity, current manufacturing processes, and launch-related structural stresses. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Industrial Methods for the Effective Development and Testing of Defense Systems (2012)
Industrial Methods for the Effective Testing and Development of Defense Systems is the latest in a series of studies, and unlike earlier studies, this report identifies current engineering practices that have proved successful in industrial applications for system development and testing. This report explores how developmental and operational testing, modeling and simulation, and related techniques can improve the development and performance of defense systems, particularly techniques that have been shown to be effective in industrial applications and are likely to be useful in defense system development. In addition to the broad issues, the report identifies three specific topics for its focus: finding failure modes earlier, technology maturity, and use of all relevant information for operational assessments. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
Novel Processes for Advanced Manufacturing: Summary of a Workshop (2013)
The Standing Committee on Defense Materials Manufacturing and Infrastructure (the DMMI standing committee) of the National Materials and Manufacturing Board of the National Research Council (NRC) held a workshop on December 5 and 6, 2012, to discuss new and novel processes in industrial modernization. The participants of the workshop provided their individual opinions but no recommendations were developed as a result of the workshop. The workshop focused on Additive manufacturing, electromagnetic field manipulation of materials, and design of materials. [Download a free PDF of this book from the National Academies Press.]
eBooks of Interest
Introduction to Aircraft Structural Analysis by
Publication Date: 2017-06-14
Introduction to Aircraft Structure Analysis, Third Edition covers the basics of structural analysis as applied to aircraft structures. Coverage of elasticity, energy methods and virtual work set the stage for discussions of airworthiness/airframe loads and stress analysis of aircraft components. Numerous worked examples, illustrations and sample problems show how to apply the concepts to realistic situations. As a self-contained guide, this value-priced book is an excellent resource for anyone learning the subject. Based on the author's best-selling text, Aircraft Structures for Engineering Students Contains expanded coverage of composite materials and structures.
Aircraft Structures for Engineering Students by
Call Number: TL671.6 .M36 2017eb
Publication Date: 2016-10-17
Aircraft Structures for Engineering Students, Sixth Edition, is the leading self-contained aircraft structures course text. It covers all fundamental subjects, including elasticity, structural analysis, airworthiness and aeroelasticity. Now in its sixth edition, the author has expanded the book's coverage of analysis and design of composite materials for use in aircraft, and has added new, real-world and design-based examples, along with new end-of-chapter problems of varying complexity. Expanded coverage of composite materials and structures New practical and design-based examples and problems throughout the text aid understanding and relate concepts to real world applications Updated and additional Matlab examples and exercises support use of computational tools in analysis and design Available online teaching and learning tools include downloadable Matlab code, solutions manual, and image bank of figures from the book.
Manufacturing Technology for Aerospace Structural Materials by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TL698 .C36 2006eb
Publication Date: 2011-08-31
The rapidly-expanding aerospace industry is a prime developer and user of advanced metallic and composite materials in its many products. This book concentrates on the manufacturing technology necessary to fabricate and assemble these materials into useful and effective structural components. Detailed chapters are dedicated to each key metal or alloy used in the industry, including aluminum, magnesium, beryllium, titanium, high strength steels, and superalloys. In addition the book deals with composites, adhesive bonding and presents the essentials of structural assembly. This book will be an important resource for all those involved in aerospace design and construction, materials science and engineering, as well as for metallurgists and those working in related sectors such as the automotive and mass transport industries.
Understanding Additive Manufacturing: Rapid Prototyping - Rapid Tooling - Rapid Manufacturing
Additive Manufacturing (AM) is the worldwide used term for layer oriented or generative manufacturing which originally was introduced at the end of the 1980s as Rapid Prototyping. Within the last 20 years it has developed dramatically. Today it is not just a valuable tool for making models and prototypes, but a manufacturing method for final parts as well as for mold inserts. It spreads throughout all disciplines and branches of industry, from art to medicine and from car manufacturing to aerospace engineering. AM is about to revolutionize the manufacturing technology in general.
Manufacturing Surface Technology by
Call Number: Electronic Book - TA418.7 .G75 2001eb
Publication Date: 2001-11-01
The first title in the "Manufacturing Engineering Modular" series, the publication of this book marks recognition of the effect of surface finish obtained in manufacture ("surface integrity") on the functional performance of product, in terms of such factors as fatigue, corrosion and strength. It is a concise work, intended chiefly for undergraduate and postgraduate students, which should also provide useful material for the professional manufacturing engineer.